VIA RAIL CONFIE À CAD INDUSTRIES FERROVIAIRES LA RÉNOVATION DE 25 VOITURES POUR 46 M$, Mardi, 10 avril 2018

MONTRÉAL, le 10 avril 2018 – VIA Rail Canada (VIA Rail) a accordé à Cad Industries Ferroviaires (CAD) un contrat d’une valeur de 46 millions de dollars pour la modernisation de 25 voitures de train destinées au service long parcours le Canadien. Construites dans les années 1950, ces voitures seront complètement remises à neuf et transformées pour mieux satisfaire aux attentes des clients actuels et futurs. Le chef de la direction et président de VIA Rail, Yves Desjardins-Siciliano a annoncé cet investissement ce matin dans les installations de l’entreprise montréalaise, en présence du ministre des Transports, l’Honorable Marc Garneau, de la députée de Dorval-Lachine-LaSalle, Anju Dhillon, de la présidente du conseil d’administration de VIA Rail, Françoise Bertrand, et du président du conseil d’administration, président et chef de la direction de Cad, Fausto Levy. Ces travaux mettront à contribution une centaine d’employés de Cad à ses installations de Montréal.

S’inscrivant dans son engagement envers la mobilité durable, VIA Rail a confié à Cad le mandat de rénover les voitures faites d’acier inoxydable et d’allonger leur durée de vie utile de quelques décennies, en conformité avec l’approche de réutilisation, de recyclage et de remise à niveau. Les voitures feront l’objet d’une modernisation visant à améliorer l’expérience client et augmenter leur fiabilité.


Les travaux incluront:

- l’actualisation du design intérieur des voitures;
- l’amélioration du confort des sièges;
- l’installation de dispositifs pour le Wi-Fi pour déploiement futur;
- une mise à niveau mécanique;
- le renouvellement des systèmes de chauffage;
- le remplacement des diverses composantes électroniques et électriques.


Pour des services sécuritaires, accessibles et respectueux de l’environnement
Ces travaux s’inscrivent dans le plan de transformation des services ferroviaires voyageurs de VIA Rail qui inclut la rénovation d’une portion du matériel roulant et l’acquisition d’une nouvelle flotte pour le Corridor, dont les fonds ont été accordés par le gouvernement fédéral dans les Budgets de 2017 et de 2018 respectivement. Dans le cadre de ce programme, un contrat a également été accordé à Bombardier Transport pour la rénovation de 17 voitures qui formeront une nouvelle génération entièrement accessible. Ces travaux augmenteront significativement le nombre de voitures d’origine datant des années 1950 remises à neuf dans le but de mieux servir les voyageurs. La fin du programme est prévue en 2020. Les mandats confiés à Cad et à Bombardier s’ajoutent aux 33 voitures en cours de rénovation, ainsi qu'à celles transformées au cours des dernières années par les employés de VIA Rail du Centre de Maintenance de Montréal.


Citations
« VIA Rail joue un rôle important dans la vie des Canadiens, qui s’attendent et ont le droit à un réseau ferroviaire voyageur sécuritaire, efficace, abordable et accessible. C’est un service essentiel pour répondre à leurs besoins en matière de transport, que ce soit pour visiter leur famille et amis, explorer le Canada, ou simplement se rendre au travail. Le gouvernement du Canada est fier d’appuyer VIA Rail dans la modernisation de sa flotte, ce qui améliorera l’expérience des voyageurs. »

L’honorable Marc Garneau
Ministre des Transports


« L’annonce d’aujourd’hui est une excellente nouvelle pour la croissance économique et la création d’emplois dans la région. Je me réjouis à l’idée d’un avenir sécuritaire, fiable, accessible et respectueux de l’environnement pour VIA Rail, et ce, pour les générations à venir. »

Députée Anju Dhillon (Dorval-Lachine-LaSalle)


« Nous remercions le gouvernement du Canada pour sa confiance. À 40 ans, VIA Rail est plus que jamais déterminée à bâtir un avenir plus durable pour les Canadiens. Ces rénovations permettront non seulement d’améliorer grandement l’expérience des voyageurs, mais ils assureront aussi la pérennité de notre service long parcours entre Toronto et Vancouver sur plusieurs années. Cet investissement s’inscrit dans notre plan de transformation et s’ajoute aux fonds accordés par le gouvernement fédéral pour l’acquisition d’une nouvelle flotte sur le corridor Québec - Windsor, ainsi que la création de voitures complètement accessibles. Nous sommes fiers d’avoir conclu cette entente avec Cad Industries Ferroviaires, une entreprise canadienne de renom, à l’issue d’un processus d’appel d’offres équitable, ouvert et transparent. »

Yves Desjardins-Siciliano
Président et chef de la direction, VIA Rail Canada


« Cad Industries Ferroviaires, ainsi que les 500 employés de ses usines de Lachine, Toronto, Oshawa et Calgary, est honorée de la confiance que lui démontre VIA Rail en lui attribuant ce contrat important qui s’échelonnera sur les deux prochaines années et qui créera une centaine d’emplois à son usine de Lachine, en plus d’assurer d’importantes commandes de composants à ses multiples fournisseurs québécois et canadiens. Cad Industries Ferroviaires a livré semblables prestations à VIA Rail dans le passé, respectant cédules de livraison et budgets pour, entre autres, la modernisation et la remise à neuf de ses 53 locomotives F40 et de plus de 40 wagons LRC. Nous sommes fiers de mettre notre savoir-faire au service de VIA Rail, de ses employés et de tous ses passagers. »

Fausto Levy,
Président du Conseil d’Administration, Président et Chef de la Direction, Cad Industries Ferroviaires Ltée.


À propos de CAD Industries Ferroviaires
Créée il y a 45 ans à Lachine, au Québec, Cad Industries Ferroviaires est la plus grande entreprise de réparation et de remise à neuf de matériel roulant au Canada. Les travaux de remise à neuf de Cad Industries Ferroviaires ajoutent environ 20 ans de vie utile aux véhicules ferroviaires et composants connexes. La société dispose également d’un centre de tests et d’essais – unique au Québec et au Canada, et l’un des trois seuls en activité en Amérique du Nord. Elle travaille également en collaboration avec ses principaux clients à des projets de R&D visant l’optimisation de la performance de moteurs diésel neufs ou remis à neuf, la réduction de leur consommation énergétique et de leurs émissions atmosphériques. La société compte 500 employés dans ses installations situés stratégiquement à Lachine, Toronto, Oshawa et Calgary.
Visitez le site internet à l’adresse www.cadrail.ca.

À propos de VIA Rail Canada
En tant que service ferroviaire voyageur national du Canada, VIA Rail (viarail.ca) et l’ensemble de ses employés ont pour mandat d’offrir des services de transport voyageurs sûrs, efficaces et économiques, et ce, dans les deux langues officielles du pays. La Société met en service des trains intervilles, régionaux et transcontinentaux qui relient plus de 400 collectivités sur son réseau pancanadien, et environ 180 collectivités de plus grâce à ses partenariats intermodaux, et mène à bon port près de quatre millions de voyageurs chaque année. L’Association des chemins de fer du Canada lui a décerné cinq Prix de l’excellence en sécurité et trois en environnement depuis 2007. Visitez la section À propos de VIA à l’adresse www.viarail.ca/fr/a-propos-de-via.

Retour aux nouvelles

cliquer ici pour le site en français Coming Soon Coming Soon Coming Soon Coming Soon

VIA RAIL AWARDS $46 MILLION CONTRACT TO CAD RAILWAY INDUSTRIES FOR RENOVATION OF 25 TRAIN CARS Tuesday, April 10th 2018

MONTREAL, April 10, 2018 – VIA Rail Canada (VIA Rail) has awarded a contract valued at $46 million to Cad Railway Industries (Cad) to upgrade 25 train cars intended for use on the long-haul train, the Canadian. Built in the 1950s, these cars will be completely refurbished and transformed to better meet our clients’ present and future needs. VIA Rail President and Chief Executive Officer Yves Desjardins-Siciliano announced the investment this morning at the company’s Montreal site in the presence of the Honourable Marc Garneau, Minister of Transport; Anju Dhillon, Member of Parliament for Dorval-Lachine-LaSalle; Françoise Bertrand, the Chairperson of the Board of Directors, VIA Rail; and Fausto Levy, Cad Chairperson of the Board, President and Chief Executive Officer. This work will be undertaken by 100 Cad employees at their Montreal facilities.

As part of VIA Rail’s commitment to sustainable mobility, the contract awarded to Cad to renovate these stainless steel cars will extend their useful life by a few decades and is in keeping with the Corporation’s “reuse-recycle-upgrade” approach. The cars will be retrofitted with a view to enhancing the passenger experience and making the equipment more reliable


The work will include:

- updating the interior design of the cars;
- improving seat comfort;
- installing devices to make the cars Wi-Fi ready for future deployment;
- carrying out a mechanical upgrading;
- renewing the heating systems;
- replacing various electronic/electrical components.


Providing safe, accessible and environmentally sound services
The renovations are part of VIA Rail’s transformation plan for Canadian rail passenger service. This plan includes renovating a part of the rolling stock and acquiring a new fleet for the Quebec City – Windsor corridor. Funding for these undertakings was approved by the federal government in its 2017 and 2018 Budgets, respectively. As part of this program, a contract was awarded to Bombardier Transportation for the renovation of 17 train cars that will form a new fully accessible generation of cars. This work will significantly increase the number of refurbished 1950s-era cars to better serve our clients. The program is scheduled to be completed in 2020. The contracts with Cad and Bombardier are in addition to 33 cars currently under renovation, and the other cars that were converted over the past years by VIA Rail’s Montreal Maintenance Centre experts.


Quotes
“VIA Rail plays an important role in the life of Canadians, who expect and are entitled to a safe, efficient, affordable and accessible passenger rail network. This is an essential service to meet their transportation needs, whether they are visiting friends and family, exploring Canada or simply commuting to work. The Government of Canada is proud to support VIA Rail in its fleet retrofit project, an undertaking that will enhance the passenger experience.”

The Honourable Marc Garneau
Minister of Transport


”Today’s announcement is excellent news for economic growth and job creation in the region. I am delighted that VIA Rail can look forward to a future that is safe, reliable, accessible and environmentally friendly for generations to come.”

MPP Anju Dhillon (Dorval-Lachine-LaSalle)


“We would like to thank the Government of Canada for the confidence it has placed in us. Created more than 40 years ago, VIA Rail is more determined than ever to build a sustainable future for Canadians. These renovations will not only greatly enhance the passenger experience on our transcontinental routes, but they will also ensure the sustainability of our long-haul service between Toronto and Vancouver over a number of years. This investment is part of our transformation plan and is in addition to the federal funding for the acquisition of a new fleet in the Quebec City-Windsor corridor, and the production of fully accessible cars. We are proud to have entered into this agreement with Cad Railway Industries, a well-known Canadian company, following a fair, open and transparent bidding process.”

Yves Desjardins-Siciliano
VIA Rail President and Chief Executive Officer


“Cad Railway Industries, Canada’s largest company in the field of rolling stock repair and refurbishing, together with our 500 employees at the Lachine, Toronto, Oshawa and Calgary plants, is honoured by the trust VIA Rail has shown in our firm with this major contract. The work will extend over the next two years and will create about 100 jobs at our Lachine plant. It will also result in large orders for components from our many Québec and Canadian suppliers. Cad Railway Industries has provided similar services to VIA Rail in the past – on time and on budget – for such work as retrofitting and upgrading 53 F40 locomotives and 40 LRC cars. We are proud to offer our expertise to VIA Rail and its employees, and for the benefit of all VIA Rail passengers.”

Fausto Levy
Chairman of the Board, President and Chief Executive Officer, Cad Railway Industries Inc.


About Cad Railway Industries
Established 45 years ago in Lachine, QC, Cad Railway Industries is Canada's largest rolling stock repair and refurbishment company. The refurbishment work of Cad Railway Industries adds approximately 20 years of useful life to railway vehicles and related components. The company also has a testing center — unique in Quebec and Canada — and one of only three in North America. It also works with its main customers on R&D projects aimed at optimizing the performance of new or refurbished diesel engines, reducing their energy consumption and their atmospheric emissions. The company has 500 employees at its strategically located facilities in Lachine, Toronto, Oshawa and Calgary.
Visit the website at www.cadrail.ca.


About VIA Rail Canada
As Canada’s national rail passenger service, VIA Rail (viarail.ca) and all its employees are mandated to provide safe, efficient and economical passenger transportation service, in both official languages of our country. VIA Rail operates intercity, regional and transcontinental trains linking over 400 communities across Canada, and about 180 more communities through intermodal partnerships, and safely transports nearly four million passengers annually. The Corporation has been awarded five Safety Awards and three Environment Awards by the Railway Association of Canada since 2007. Visit the “About VIA Rail” section at: www.viarail.ca/en/about-via-rail.

 

Back to News

cliquer ici pour le site en français Coming Soon Coming Soon Coming Soon Coming Soon